Executive Committee

Professor Catherine Harwood


Prof Catherine Harwood is a Consultant Dermatologist and Professor of Dermatology in the Centre for Cell Biology and Cutaneous Research, Blizard Institute, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London and Barts Health NHS Trust.

She qualified in medicine from Cambridge University and St Thomas ' Hospital London. She trained in Dermatology at St George's Hospital and Barts Health NHS Trust and obtained a PhD in skin cancer research from Queen Mary University of London (QMUL). She was appointed as a Clinical Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Dermatologist at Barts Health NHS Trust/QMUL in 2001. Her main clinical and research interests are related to skin cancer, particularly in immunosuppressed individuals.

    Dr Louise Fearfield

    Deputy Chair

    Dr Louise Fearfield is a Consultant Dermatologist at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital (CWH) with an interest in skin cancer and cutaneous oncology and currently deputy chair of BSSCII.

    Since 2010 she has published papers on her work related to cutaneous toxicities associated with the newer therapies used in the treatment of cancer. Having become a national expert in this field she has been an invited speaker at numerous national and international meetings winning several coveted awards for her research. With the new initiative of including skin toxicities associated with cancer treatments as part of the BSSCII remit she hopes to use her expertise to help expand the work of the group.

      Dr Conal Perrett (London)


      Dr Conal Perrett is a Consultant Dermatologist & Dermatological Surgeon at University College London Hospital (UCLH) where he led the skin cancer service and established both the Mohs micrographic surgery and photodynamic therapy (PDT) services. As a member of the London Sarcoma Service he looks after patients with cutaneous sarcoma and also has an interest in skin cancer in haemato-oncology patients. At Harefield and Royal Brompton NHS Trust, Dr Perrett runs a specialist clinic for heart and lung transplant patients who come from all over the UK with skin problems.  

      Previously he was awarded a prestigious Cancer Research UK (CR-UK) Clinical Research Fellowship working at their London Research Institute (now at the Francis Crick Institute), as well as the Blizard Institute of Cell and Molecular Science at Barts and The London and the St John’s Institute of Dermatology. For his research on skin cancer in organ transplant recipients he was awarded a PhD by the University of London. He has presented his work nationally and internationally and published in world class journals including Science. As an honorary associate clinical professor at University College London (UCL) he continues to supervise PhD students and has served as a final MB and PhD examiner for the University of London.

        Dr Khushboo Sinha


        Dr Sinha is currently an appointed Consultant at St John’s Institute of Dermatology, working at both Guy’s and St Thomas’s Hospital and Lewisham University Hospital. Having completed a post-CCT Fellowship in skin cancer at the prestigious St John’s Institute of Dermatology, she works in several dedicated tertiary skin cancer clinics such as the Low Risk Melanoma, Mole surveillance clinic, High Risk Melanoma and Transplant Surveillance clinics. She has participated in rolling out a Teledermatology Service across the South-East London region and is currently both the Skin Cancer Lead at University Hospital Lewisham and the Co-Clinical Lead for Dermatology in the South East London Dermatology Network. Finally, Dr Sinha is Honorary Secretary for BSSCII, allowing her to promote improved patient management and medical and scientific research that is relevant for skin diseases in immunocompromised individuals including organ transplant recipients, those on long term immunosuppressive medications, haematological conditions and HIV infection, as well as addressing skin toxicities related to cancer treatments.

          Board Members

          Dr Tanya Basu – Past President Haemato-oncology
          Prof Charlotte Proby – First Past President

          Solid organ transplant recipients (OTR)

          Dr Abha Gulati Education
          Dr Ferina Ismail OTR & website editor
          Dr Fiona Child Haemato-oncology
          Dr Rubeta Matin Research, OTR
          Dr Matthew Bottomley Transplant Physician
          Prof Kieron Leslie HIV
          Alan Milligan Nurse Specialist
          Trudy Guinan Nurse Specialist
          Dr Farrah Bakr Trainee Representative
          Dr Brent Doolan Trainee Representative
          Dr Mhairi Duncan Trainee Representative
          Dr Emilia Peleva Trainee Representative

          BSSCII Information Governance Subgroup

          Alex Chilvers Senior Information Risk Owner (SIRO)
          Conal Perret Caldicott Guardian
          Peter Case-Upton IT Advisor to the Board
          Catherine Harwood Chair of BSSCII
          Louise Fearfield Deputy chair of BSSCII